Importing the JLPT Tango N5 MIA Anki Deck to Kitsun

Hi there!

I am brand new to Kitsun and really love the layout and possibilities! I am currently using Anki to study a deck called “JLPT Tango N5 MIA Japanese” that I love, especially because it includes pitch accent info. Unfortunately, I really dislike the look of Anki and the way its SRS functions, and prefer the SRS of WK and Kitsun.

I tried to auto import the Tango deck and it doesn’t seem to have worked – all of the cards are blank. I have read a few topics here in the community about manually uploading decks, but I have no coding experience whatsoever so a lot of it is like a foreign language to me (lol). I have no idea which options to tweak in order to make sure this deck imports correctly.

Furthermore, is it even possible to import this deck with the pitch accent notes in tact? My goal is to learn to speak Japanese, not just read it, so pitch accent is very important to me; otherwise I would use one of the community decks instead of bothering to import.

Any help is vastly appreciated. I have no clue what I am doing!

Link to the Anki deck here.

1 Like

It’s probably the same deck giving issue, on another thread. Maybe if it got fixed, it could be posted in the community centre

1 Like

Thanks for replying!

I did see that thread, and while it’s possible we are using the same deck, I highly doubt it as NONE of my cards display (while that OP’s deck displayed 75% of their cards). I tried checking what the person who replied there said about sentence syntax but do not see how it applies to my deck. I also tried messing with my cards and it doesn’t look like there’s a way to preserve the pitch accent info, so unfortunately I will likely be unable to use Kitsun, which sucks :frowning: the only work around would be to convert all of the cards’ pitch accent info into images, but that would take significantly more work than I have the time or knowledge for.

Anyway, thanks for your input!

1 Like