How to study with MaruMori (Grammar reviews, exercises,...)?

Hello,

I’m new to MaruMori and try to figure out everything little by little.
For now I managed to do some beginner lessons (10 so far) and I feel it’s a bit fast for me.
I’m used to Japanese From Zero which I use for 4 months now and that is way more slow with a good amount of exercises at the end of every lesson. I consider myself a slow learner in terms of language. It took me nearly 20 years to learn basic English, so… :stuck_out_tongue:
My question is now, how do I really learn with MaruMori? Are there more exercises coming in the next lessons? Am I supposed to read through the lessons and come up with exercises by myself? But how do I know I make things right then? Or just one lesson everyday and see where it leads me?
I don’t know how to practice that I read in the lessons.

Hope you have some tips for me :blush:

1 Like

Are you doing the vocab and kanji SRS lesson ‘Homework’ to build your reading base before you progress? It should be unlocking as you progress through the tiles for the lessons to be available.

1 Like

Yes I do. The first tile I somehow missed at first but I noticed it later. I don’t think the vocab is the main problem for me as I already know some from JFZ and WK. It’s the lack of practice and usage.

2 Likes

Hey! I think pacing yourself is pretty important. We typically recommend doing 1 level per day, so that you have time to really internalize the new information you just learned (and have time to work through SRS lessons and reviews). Regarding grammar exercises, there are 3-5 exercises at the bottom of the Grammar Lessons and the Reading Exercises in between every 5 grammar lessons (which prime you on the new grammar points/kanji/vocabulary).

Our conjugation drills are almost ready for release too, which will add new levels to the adventure regions, to make sure that you remember all the new conjugations you learn. Keep an eye out for that in the next few days!