Add ability to automatically highlight vocabulary terms within example sentences

I find that when I’m studying my flashcards, I only want to read a small portion of my example sentence that contains the vocabulary word without having to read the entire paragraph. So, I frequently ctrl+f in order to find the word and add a note on its usage. If the word were already highlighted, it would be much faster to find the word and understand the usage of the word.

4 Likes

Are we talking about a private deck or a community one here? Because if the deck belongs to you, you can do that:

Example: Today I went out and ate an <span class="highlight">ice cream</span>.

This will use your Kitsun’s theme color^

But maybe you mean from the dictionary tool or from a community deck? :thinking:

4 Likes

Edit: Just use @seanblue’s script, it works perfect for me. Now I want to update all my cards.

Ideally this would be nice for native function or a single highlight extension for this purpose which is possible.

This extension solution works ok, it’s just two clicks (well technically four :lying_face:) and I set it to work only for kitsun.io only.

To what @jprspereira shared above, I’m just inserting the first half < span class=“highlight” > before the word

Then second half to ‘sandwich’ the key word < /span > after

It’s a little finicky to spaces and have to watch out for mistakenly replacing the word with a highlight (just add a space)…Admittedly not the most elegant solution but it works and saves some time. And you’ll see the little space in Japanese text unfortunately, this is just the HTML element and I don’t think this can be changed.

If this is an easier solution, please share! I’m no pro at this :slightly_smiling_face:

4 Likes

It really does depend on the deck being used. If they are your own cards you could go for the solutions posted above, otherwise I’m afraid it might become a bit difficult.